Mithali and co present PM Modi with signed bat

Indian Women's Cricket team players Harmanpreet Kaur Poonam Yadav and Ekta Bisht during a press conference in Mumbai

Indian Women's Cricket Team Receives Immense Reception: After a great display of their talent in ICC Women's World Cup 2017 in England, Indian Women's Cricket team returned to India. Congratulating the skipper, Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao praised the team led by her for their scintillating performance in the World Cup.

The players were felicitated by Fadnavis at Vidhan Bhawan.

The idea of a league received a thumping endorsement from the women cricketers at the ceremony, with off-spinner Deepti Sharma even saying that a women's league should have started alongside the money-spinning Indian Premier League in 2008 itself. "It's huge now, and I'm sure the girls would have enjoyed it", Mithali said.

Mithali, who has played just 10 Tests in her 18-year long worldwide career also stressed the importance of playing the traditional format, which she termed as "ultimate test" for any cricketer. "No one knows what happens in the next four years as the next 50-over World Cup is in 2021". Though cricket is a way of life in India, still, women's cricket was an unknown term. "You are the pride of Telangana and Hyderabad city", he said.

England beat India in the finals at Lord's to win their fourth World Cup title.

Yet, a composed Mithali sported a smile when she finally boarded the auto safely. Unfortunately, we lost by a slender margin.

'I always believed if more matches are televised we can attract more people, ' said Raj, who became the leading runscorer in women's One-day Internationals during the event.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday presented cheques of Rs50 lakh each to the players besides giving away Rs25 lakh each to the support staff. Both girls, however, were not part of the squad that played the final against England.Talking about her happiest memory from the tournament, Mansi said, "It was a high point for me to field in the match against defending champion Australia".


Related News